In 1893 Queen Maria Pia (1847 - 1911), widow of King Luis 1 aquired from Joâ;o Henrique Ulrick “;The Chalet”;, at that time known as FAR VIEWS which history has it, was originally built by a British family. The Queen embarked immediately on a wideranging
In 1893 Queen Maria Pia (1847 - 1911), widow of King Luis 1 aquired from Joâ;o Henrique Ulrick “;The Chalet”;, at that time known as FAR VIEWS which history has it, was originally built by a British family. The Queen embarked immediately on a wideranging remodelling of the property under the direction of Architects Rosendo Carvalheira and Luís d´Ávila, along with complete interior redecoration and enrichment which is particularily evident in the wall and ceiling frescos of painter António Ramalho. In 1913 the Chalet became the property of António de Herédia, the son of the Viscount of Ribeira Brava and has remained in the family to this day.
The property which was formerly the summer residence of the Portuguese royal family in the late 19th Century enjoys a truly unique location high above the seafront cliffs in Estoril, totally south facing and with uniterrupted views over the Bay of Cascais to the mouth of the River Tagus.
There are actually two main buildings, the Chalet and the former stables and servants quarters which has more recently been converted into a small winery and offices and would easily convert into a second house. The Chalet is actually perched on the clifftop.
One sees the ocean from all points within the property which has expansive gardens, a large pool with changing rooms and a full kitchen. There are also 500 vines of Merlot variety planted in pots in the grounds inspired by Chateau Petrus.
The Chalet is partially restored and in sound structural condition. There is an elevator to all floors.